The origin of the ESN-section in Hamburg lies in a group called Mentor AG. The abbreviation AG stands for Arbeitsgemeinschaft, which could be translated to work group or project group and is basically something like a club. The Mentor AG was founded as a part of the AStA (General Students' Committee) of the Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH)  in May 2002. The goal of the AG was to take care of foreign exchange students at the TUHH. Therefore a buddyprogram was established where local mentors were assigned to international mentorees they could help with their problems and to just be friends with them. The 54 original members of the Mentor AG also organized several activities such as  dragon boating, trips to the christmas market in Lüneburg, picnics at the beach of the Elbe-river and of course partys.

In 2006 the Mentor AG joined the Erasmus Student Network (ESN), because the goals of the AG and ESN fit perfectly together. The accession to the Network also gave the Mentor AG the opportunity to cooperate with other ESN-sections when the AG was planning trips and tours. A highlight of these cooperations was the organization of ESNters 2010 in Hamburg. Hundreds of forgeign exchange students of our partner-sections and their members came to our city to explore it together and to celebrate the whole weekend. At the following ESNters events our international students could do the same in Munich, Dresden, Berlin, Cologne and Frankfurt (on the Main).

 In September 2011 it was decided that the Mentor AG was renamed to ESN Hamurg-Harburg AG or short ESN AG. The reason for this was on the one hand to end the unpractical double naming and on the other hand to emphasize and deepen the connection with ESN. In 2013 the AG was again renamed to ESN Hamburg AG.

2014, it was again our pleasure to host ESNters in Hamburg.

The number and composition of our active AG-members always changes and everyone at the TUHH is very welcome to join us! Our goals haven't changed during the years, nevertheless the portfolio of our events grew and can still be extended by new creative members. A nice bonus at the end of the ESN-career is the certificate one can get from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) which is always a nice addition to the CV.

In conclusion it is very fun to help international students to get along in Germany and  Hamburg and to get to know the world right on our own doorstep at the same time!

Die ESN-Sektion in Hamburg hat ihren Ursprung in der Mentor AG. Diese Arbeitsgemeinschaft des  AStA's der Technischen Universität Hamburg-Harburg (TUHH) wurde im Mai 2002 gegründet und setzte sich zum Ziel die ausländischen Studierenden an der TUHH zu betreuen. Hierzu wurde ein Buddyprogramm ins Leben gerufen, bei dem lokale Mentoren_innen ausländische Mentorees vermittelt bekommen.  Neben der Mentoreevermittlung zu Beginn des Semesters wurden außerdem verschiedenste Veranstaltungen und Ausflüge durch die 54 AG-Mitglieder organisiert. Hierzu gehörten beispielsweise Drachenbootfahrten auf der Alster und in den Kanälen Hamburgs, Ausflüge zum Weihnachtsmarkt in Lüneburg und den Karl-May-Festpielen, Picknicks am Elbstrand und zahlreiche Partys.

Im Jahr 2006 trat die Mentor AG dann dem Erasmus Student Network (ESN) bei, da die Ziele der AG hervorragend zu den Zielen des ESN passten. Außerdem ergab sich dadurch die Möglichkeit bei Fahrten und Ausflügen mit Partner-Sektionen zu kooperieren. Ein Highlight war hierbei die Organisiation von ESNters 2010 in Hamburg. Hunderte Austauschstudierende unserer Partner-Sektionen und deren Mitglieder kamen hierfür in unsere Stadt, um diese gemeinsam kennenzulernen und zu feiern. Bei den folgenden ESNters-Events konnten wir und unsere Austauschstudierenden dann München, Dresden, Berlin, Köln und Frankfurt/Main an unvergesslichen Wochenenden erleben.

Im September 2011 wurde dann beschlossen die Mentor AG in ESN Hamburg-Harburg AG, bzw. ESN AG umzubenennen. Der Grund hierfür war einerseits die unpraktische Doppelbenennung zu beenden und andererseits die Verbindung zum ESN hervorzuheben und zu vertiefen.

2014 hatten wir dann wieder die Ehre ESNters nach Hamburg zurück zu bringen.

Die Zahl und Zusammensetzung unserer aktiven AG-Mitglieder ändert sich ständig und jede_r an der TUHH ist herzlich eingeladen sich bei uns einzubringen! Unsere Ziele haben sich im Laufe der Jahre nicht geändert, dafür ist unser Repertoire an Veranstaltungen gewachsen und kann gerne kreativ erweitert werden! Als zusätzliches Bonbon kann jedes aktive Mitglied am Ende der ESN-Zeit ein Zertifikat vom Deutschen Akademischen Auslandsdienst (DAAD) bekommen, was  sich immer ausgezeichnet im Lebenslauf macht.

Abschließend lässt sich sagen, dass es großen Spaß macht sich für internationale Studierende zu engagieren und so die große, weite Welt vor der eigenen Haustür kennenzulernen!